Product of the Week

Hello, friendly faces! Welcome to the second instalment of the  Wednesday Product Review. Let’s get down to business, shall we?

1

This week: Revlon’s Nail Art Moon Candy Nail Polish Duo

RevlonNailArtCosmic3DMoonCandy

This week’s review is on Revlon’s Nail Art Moon Candy Nail Polish Duo.  I have the “Orbit” palette. This product has been around for a few years, but I feel like a lot of people don’t know about it or are too hesitant to try it. Hopefully this review will help you decide if you’ll try it out.

I’ve only used this nail polish a few times, and I have mixed feelings about it. Yes, it makes your nails look really cool, but (for me, at least) it was kind of a challenge to get it to that point. 

I’ll give you a break down of the product: It’s a double-ended nail polish duo that gives you small amounts of two colours that compliment each other. At least, they’re supposed to…some of them don’t like that great together…

ANYHOW, first you apply the base, or the solid colour. Once that dries, you add on the “Moon Candy,” i.e. the super fun confetti pieces. After that, add a top coat to protect the pieces and you’re good to go. 

I didn’t use the solid colour that mine came with just because I am a little hesitant with using black nail polish (every one I try turns my nail orange…!) So I decided to use a neon blue. The “Moon Candy” pieces still held on, so I was pleased with that. However, that also proves that the solid colour they give you is just one of their normal polishes that they hiked up the price on.

I had a hard time getting the confetti pieces out of the little jar. That being said, for anyone who has used a polish with little bits of sparkles or anything of the like know that that stuff is hard to use! I finally managed to get pieces from the thicker-version-of-a-top coat polish , and once I had applied the top coat and allowed it to dry, I was very pleased with how it looked. 

IMG_2167

Me trying out my artsy picture-taking a while back. Yes, I listen to Skrillex. And yes, one nail is black. Just one. 

As far as the wear goes, it isn’t bad. I mean, yes, it does chip, but it lasts for a couple of days before that happens. But when it does, the confetti pieces break like they are made of glue, so I literally would have to peel stringy pieces of nail polish off every time there was a chip. Not too pleasant. 

Despite that, I really like how it looks. I think it’s fun to have a bit of texture on your nails, and it adds a nice touch to an other wise bland nail polish. Would I buy it again? Probably not. I got it at a beauty flea market for about $4.00, but in other stores it ranges from $8.00-10.00. That’s a lot for only a little bit of polish.

Also, this polish doesn’t last very long shelf-wise. The oldest one I have is a few years old, and when I tried opening up the confetti side, it had the consistency of old white glue. So yes, it went in the trash. I know some people don’t keep nail polish for more than a year, or maybe even less, but I’ve never had a problem with them going bad (I still have my first nail polish, from over ten years ago…I don’t use it, of course.)

To summarize:

The Good: Great look. It really stands out from other polishes and adds a nice texture. 

The Bad: Difficult application, weird gloopy-chipping, expensive to buy full-price, doesn’t last long.

Overall Rating: out of 5 moons. A solid “meh.”

Have you ever tried the polish? What did you think of it?

See you soon,

Jenna

 

Nailpolish lineup image from theblondeandthebrunette.com

 

Leave a Reply

