Wednesday Product Review

  Happy hump day, everyone! I’m being honest when I say I’m glad the week is half over-school is back in full swing and showing no mercy. Also, dance has started up again, and the two combined just leaves me exhausted. That being said, each day that goes by is one day closer to the end of the semester (please hurry up!) 

  The weather hasn’t helped. We’ve been graced with pretty mild weather the past couple of weeks, which is NOT normal for this time of year. But now it is COLD. Like, really cold. Walks to and from school aren’t nearly as enjoyable when you feel like your nose is going to fall off from frostbite. 

  That aside, let’s get to the Wednesday Product Review! 

1

This week: MAC Matte Lipstick in Instigator

41bYgq8yAkL._AC_UL320_SR272,320_

  This product was already featured in my January Collection of the Month, but I would like to talk about it a little more. I recently bought this lipstick at a MAC counter in a department store on a whim. I saw the colour and thought, why not? For $20 CAD this was a splurge lipstick for me (I usually stay with the drugstore brand ones for much cheaper), but everyone deserves to treat themselves once and a while.

  When I got the lipstick home and tried it on, I was surprised. It was so dark! I’m used to red and neutral lip colours, so this was a big change for me. Still, I really liked it.

IMG_6907

  It went on smooth and very solid in colour. It holds up to its matte labelling, as it has no sheen to it. Since it is so dark and bold it does not need a lipliner, however, if you were to buy one, the only match I have ever been able to fine is MAC’s Nightmoth Lip Pencil-which is another $19.50 CAD so maybe not the best choice economically. I needed to get a lip liner just because my lips don’t like lipstick that much and colours tend to bleed onto my skin, so I stuck with getting a cheaper (but still good) one: Sephora’s Universal Lip Liner, $12.50 CAD (which I may review in another post). 

  I liked the texture of this lipstick a lot. It wasn’t “liquidy” like a lot of lipsticks and kept its colour for a long time without reapplying. You can even eat with it (which is one thing I look for in a good lipstick)! However, I found that the lipstick was very drying. After removing it, I would recommend using a moisturizing lip balm to give your lips a little TLC. I also found it difficult to get colour on the inside part of the lip. You know when someone has dark lipstick on but there is a tiny circle of pink lip near the centre? Yeah, that’s what I found happens with this one. The colour doesn’t hold onto moisture well, so maybe that’s why. I also wouldn’t recommend using a lip balm before applying the lipstick for this exact reason. Another problem I found was keeping the colour consistent-some parts were darker than others and it was hard to get one smooth look. 

  To summarize:

The Good: It has a really nice colour and it’s long lasting. It’s true to it’s matte style and does not require a lip liner (unless you’re like me and all lipsticks hate you). 

The Bad: It’s very drying and does not hold to moisture. You get the little “pink circle” in the centre of your lips because of this. It’s difficult to get a smooth look. Also, it’s a bit pricey and its only matching lip liner is almost the exact same price.

Overall Rating: 3 out of 5 moons (If you haven’t guessed by the blog’s name, I like moons). 

  It really is a nice lipstick. The colour is my favourite part-it’s a great stand-out colour that can be worn any time of year. Will I buy it again? Most likely. If I feel like spending the money again! (I need a job, okay?)

  I hope you enjoyed this post. I plan to do one of these each week, so be on the look out for more! If you have a product you’d like me to review, let me know in the comments below!

Have you ever used Instigator? What did you think of it? Comments are welcomed!

I hope you have a great day, 

Jenna

Leave a Reply

